

THE ASSAM GAZETTE

অসাধাৰণ

EXTRAORDINARY প্ৰাপ্ত কৰ্ত্ত্ত্বৰ দ্বাৰা প্ৰকাশিত PUBLISHED BY THE AUTHORITY

নং 97 দিশপুৰ, বৃহস্পতিবাৰ, 10 ফেব্ৰুৱাৰী, 2022, 21 মাঘ 1943 (শক) No. 97 Dispur, Thursday, 10th February, 2022, 21st Magha, 1943 (S. E.)

GOVERNMENT OF ASSAM ORDERS BY THE GOVERNOR ELECTION DEPARTMENT ::::: DISPUR

NOTIFICATION

The 10th February, 2022

No. ELE.111/2021/107.- The Election Commission of India's Notification No.100/AS-LA/1/2022/NES-II dated 10th February, 2022 is republished for general information.

ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA NirvachanSadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110001.

Dated:- 10th February, 2022 21 Magha, 1943(Saka)

NOTIFICATION

No. 100/AS-LA/1/2022/NES-II.- WHEREAS. the seat of Shri Sarbananda Sonowal in the Legislative Assembly of the State of Assam elected from 99-Majuli (ST) Assembly Constituency, has become vacant on 28.09.2021, by reason of his resignation.

2. WHEREAS, a bye-election is to held for the purpose of filling the vacancy so caused;

3. NOW THEREFORE, in pursuance of Section 150, 30 and 56 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951), the Election Commission of India hereby-

(A) calls upon the said 99-Majuli (ST) Assembly Constituency in the State of Assam, to elect before 12th March, 2022 (Saturday) and in accordance with the provisions of the said Act and of the rules and orders made thereunder, a person belonging to any of the Schedule Tribe of the State, for the purpose of filling the said vacancy in the Legislative Assembly of the State;

(B) appoints, with respect of the said election,-

- (a) the 17th February, 2022 (Thursday), as the last date for making nominations;
- (b) the 18th February, 2022 (Friday), as the date for scrutiny of nominations;
- (c) the 21st February, 2022 (Monday), as the last date for the withdrawal of candidatures;
- (d) the 07th March, 2022 (Monday), as the date on which a poll shall, if necessary, be taken; and
- (e) the 12th March, 2022 (Saturdy), as the date before which the election shall be completed;

(C) fixes the hours from 7.00 A.M. to 5.00 P.M., as the hours during which the poll shall, if necessary, be taken on the date specified above, for the election.

By Order,

(N.T. BHUTIA) SECRETARY ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

> NITIN KHADE, Chief Electoral Officer, Assam, Dispur, Guwahati-06